As featured in

Holiday cottagesHoliday apartmentsHoliday lodges & log cabinsDog friendly accommodation
Become a member for free and access exclusive deals
Now driving your route . . .
Become a member for free and access exclusive deals
From
£152
per nightFrom
£141
per nightFrom
£150
per nightFrom
£155
per nightFrom
£58
per nightFrom
£152
per nightFrom
£219
per nightFrom
£58
per nightFrom
£495
per nightFrom
£130
per nightFrom
£93
per nightFrom
£168
per nightFrom
£153
per nightFrom
£215
per nightFrom
£109
per nightFrom
£101
per nightFrom
£58
per nightFrom
£75
per nightFrom
£91
per nightFrom
£121
per nightFrom
£90
per nightFrom
£264
per nightFrom
£140
per nightJacqueline - Verified booking
We holidayed at Harbottle Lodge for two weeks from 6 July 2022.
Iâve given it 2 stars because the shower was excellent and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, apart from that, the standard of this property was very low: When we arrived we could get no hot water from the taps, only from the shower. We phoned the owner about this and found out that the hot tap had to be turned on full, splashing everything around the sink including us and eventually hot water would appear but you couldnât turn down the volume or it went cold again. The owner arranged for a plumber to call and he fiddled with the very ancient boiler but the problem didnât improve. There was very little storage space for clothes and we had to bring a lot because we were staying for 2 weeks and we knew there was no washing machine and previous reviews had stated that the on-site laundry was not very effective. There was no wardrobe but just a short rail in the hall above all the cleaning materials and bucket and all the drawers on one of the bedside tables stuck and were unusable. The settee was uncomfortable and gave us both back-ache, although we shifted cushions around many times in an attempt to improve it. However, the bed was very comfortable. We had to open the windows because we had some hot weather but theyâre such a peculiar design that the slightest breeze made them move about or slam shut. Their frames were also very dirty and bits of dirt and cobwebs fell from them. The carpets were very stained and were sticky to the touch, especially the rug in the main room. The bathroom was fine apart from the lack of hot water from the taps and a heated towel rack would have been nice. However, the shower was excellent. The photos give the impression of a light and airy interior. This was not the case; it was gloomy and we needed a light on all the time. Iâve seen a response from the owner to a review in June, where the owner stated that they had resolved the hot water, cleaning and carpet problems but this was not the case when we arrived on 6 July. We did not phone them about the issues we had, apart from the hot water issue, because there was nothing they could have done about the furniture, the cleaning or the lack of storage space for our clothes. Weâve stayed in many self-catering cottages and Iâve never given a bad review before. I suppose the cheap price of the property should have made us wary when we booked it but even so, we were very disappointed. However cheap, we expected a certain level of comfort, cleanliness and facilities.
Read more >
Mr Wilson - Verified booking
What can I say about River view lodge other than absolute perfection! Peaceful! tranquil! absolute luxury! and what a setting! We have a couple of holidays like this a year and rarely return to the same place, which is more out of variety than anything else but RVL could be an annual holiday for us going forward. I always say that the place we stay has to be on par or better than what we have at home! When we arrived I think Andrew thought we were staying for a month, we always go well prepared through experience but Andrew's attention to detail is amazing he's pretty much thought of anything and everything. You really have to see this place to appreciate it, fixtures fittings and the finish are as good as it gets, the beds and bedding are pure luxury. It's a shame this place wasn't on grand designs as I would have loved to have seen the building of it. It's the best UK holiday we have had, the local area is beautiful with loads of nice walks by the river. Sometimes it's the smallest detail that makes all the difference and this was how dog friendly it is, hot and cold water to wash your dog off with towels shampoo and all other bits provided. Fantastic! For us this is a 10/10 place we didn't want to leave. WE WILL BE BACK!
Read more >
Lucy - Verified booking
What a beautiful wee holiday cabin!
We had a fabulous time, staying at Harbottle Lodge for three nights. Our daughter Beatrice says it is the best holiday she has been on so far. The cabin is very comfortable, cosy, and easily sleeps 3. The kitchen looks brand new and had everything we needed. Great shower! Nice little patio furniture set out the front. You wouldnât even know there were other cabins nearby, it is such a quiet location. Thereâs a laundrette behind the cabin if needed, although we didnât go to find it. And a small play area for the kids. Thereâs also a bigger play ground in the village, which our daughter loved. There is a lovely little farm shop down the road, which stocks cheese, meat and a few other provisions. They also serve tea and coffee. We would also recommend The Running Fox tearoom in the village - superb breakfast! (book ahead, though). Mrs Gabb, the owner of the cabin, was excellent and we spoke on the phone ahead of arrival. We knew all we needed to know in advance of staying. I could sit here all day and write this review. Honestly, give the place a try. Itâs 10/10 from us. Thank you. Definitely coming back!
Read more >
Mrs Lancaster - Verified booking
We have just spent a wonderful week in River view Lodge, it far exceeded our expectations in terms of the quality of the fixtures and fittings and the craftsmanship is exceptional! The views are stunning whether your sitting in bed or in the lounge or relaxing in the hot tub on the deck! The owners are extremely helpful and as others have said the fact that there is no parking on site is not a problem, Andrew met us in the village which is only a short walk away and took all our stuff up to the lodge. The village itself is pretty with 2 nice pubs, they only serve food at the weekend but there are plenty of other pubs in nearby villages if you want to have a drive out. The Spice Valley is also well worth trying for a Indian takeaway. The local area is beautiful and there are plenty of walks directly from the lodge and along the river, but coming back to that fabulous hot tub waa an absolute treat! Thank you Andrew and Sarah for a wonderful week, it really is Five star luxury and would highly recommend to others. We will be back again.....even if it is just to get a good night's sleep in that luxurious bed!
Read more >
Gillian - Verified booking
The property was on an estate near a prison and was essentially a converted double garage.
Previous reviews have covered the height of ceiling issues but if the property had been pristine and nice in every other way that would have been tolerable. There were not curtains on the door into the garden for privacy and the heating was outwith our control. I do not want to have to seek out the owner when I feel cold. A laundry without a dryer is useless and there was nowhere outside to dry washing. The kitchen was greasy, there was no dishwasher and the cupboards appear to be falling apart inside. We disliked it so much we left on Thursday morning. It would make me very wary of using you again - and we have used you many times before. Not worth the money - a caravan would have been about the same- and so disappointing. It was difficult to raise issues given we had to go through the ownersâ hall to access the property. Your listing was by the letter accurate but we feel should have defined the extremely small size and perhaps an inspection is required to check on the state of the kitchen and bedroom and bathroom.
Read more >
Best price guarantee
No one can beat our prices
Our cottages are professionally managed by our partners and payments are taken by them, but rest assured, by booking via Snaptrip you'll pay the lowest possible price for your trip.
We never charge you more than you would pay booking directly on the partner's site and if you become a member you can save even more. If you find a property priced lower anywhere else on the internet (we’d be amazed if you do), simply email us at marketing@snaptrip.com and we'll refund you the difference.
As featured in
We connect you to a range of great suppliers with a huge selection of properties. We've done the research, so that you don't have to.
We help you to complete your booking whilst giving you discounts, member only prices and our best price guarantee.
Become a member >
We connect you with the best professionally managed properties and our marketing leading customer services can help you every step of the way.
Northumberland Country Zoo
Chesters Roman Fort
Join for free to get access to exclusive prices on thousands of properties.
Login to see
Sign up to see
Login to see
or
Already a member login here
Not a member?
By entering my email address, I agree to Snaptrip's Terms of service, Privacy policy and to receive email updates, news, & offers from Snaptrip.
Welcome, member discounts are now available.
Your browser is out of date and we can't guarantee a consistent experience when using our site. Please consider updating or switching. More info on browser support